Podcast episode
Brought to you by Tommy John premium underwear https://tommyjohn.com/tim, Eight Sleep’s Pod Cover sleeping solution for dynamic cooling and heating http://eightsleep.com/Tim, and ButcherBox premium meats delivered to your door http://butcherbox.com/tim. Stephen Wolfram (@stephen_wolfram) is the crea...

Brought to you by Tommy John premium underwear https://tommyjohn.com/tim, Eight Sleep’s Pod Cover sleeping solution for dynamic cooling and heating http://eightsleep.com/Tim, and ButcherBox premium meats delivered to your door http://butcherbox.com/tim.

Stephen Wolfram (@stephen_wolfram) is the creator of Mathematica, Wolfram|Alpha, and the Wolfram Language; the author of A New Kind of Science; the originator of the Wolfram Physics Project; and the founder and CEO of Wolfram Research. Over the course of more than four decades, he has been a pioneer in the development and application of computational thinking, and has been responsible for many discoveries, inventions, and innovations in science, technology, and business.

Please enjoy!

00:00 Start
00:13 How Stephen collects information for his vast personal archives.
01:59 When a situation warrants building a matrix.
06:00 Science sometimes makes us look far back to move incrementally forward.
11:22 Befriending the computational.
16:46 How technology helps us navigate natural language.
26:57 How Stephen chose subjects for his book Idea Makers.
27:55 On spending time with Richard Feynman.
30:26 Thoughts on Srinivasa Ramanujan.
32:59 When Stephen started solving science problems with computers.
35:07 Heresies today, gospels tomorrow.
43:30 Ruminations on the ruliad.
58:24 What is time?
1:06:21 What constitutes consciousness?
1:10:23 Personal infrastructure and productivity.
1:18:04 Maintaining energy in the midst of a busy life.
1:24:49 Avoiding once-inevitable sickness after air travel.
1:27:11 Making time count — in sickness and in health.
1:28:11 Parting thoughts.

Resources: https://tim.blog/2022/11/24/stephen-wolfram/

About Tim Ferriss:
Tim Ferriss is one of Fast Company’s “Most Innovative Business People” and an early-stage tech investor/advisor in Uber, Facebook, Twitter, Shopify, Duolingo, Alibaba, and 50+ other companies. He is also the author of five #1 New York Times and Wall Street Journal bestsellers: The 4-Hour Workweek, The 4-Hour Body, The 4-Hour Chef, Tools of Titans and Tribe of Mentors. The Observer and other media have named him “the Oprah of audio” due to the influence of his podcast, The Tim Ferriss Show, which has exceeded 800 million downloads and been selected for “Best of Apple Podcasts” three years running.

Connect with Tim Ferriss:
Sign up for "5-Bullet Friday" (Tim's free weekly email newsletter): https://go.tim.blog/5-bullet-friday-yt/
Visit the Tim Ferriss PODCAST: https://tim.blog/podcast/
Visit the Tim Ferriss BLOG: https://tim.blog/
Follow Tim Ferriss on TWITTER: https://twitter.com/tferriss/
Follow Tim Ferriss on INSTAGRAM: https://www.instagram.com/timferriss/
Like Tim Ferriss on FACEBOOK: https://www.facebook.com/TimFerriss/

(From Youtube)

Show More

Recommended by
Recommendations from around the web and our community.

Easy. Time Ferriss’ interview of Stephen Wolfram. Insane productivity and creativity, power of live-streaming and the structure of the universe in 90mins.